top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNethmini Sirimanne

Hi! Nice to Meet you.

My name is Nethmini Sirimanne, I'm 17 years old, and as of August 2020 I'm just about to enter Medical school in about a months time.

So why is it that I opened up a blog you may wonder? Great question! I find myself asking the same thing. I guess it was something always at the back of my mind but whats curious about it is, is that I'm not entirely sure what I'm hoping to acheive with it.


As with many things in life, we often pursue them with the expectation of a certain end result. Which is why this opening up a blog thing seems quite foreign to me, as I dont really have any expectations, and yet the urge still existed. And huzzah! here we are.


Lets get into some basic info shall we,


By September 2020 I'll be attending Yerevan State Medical University, which I have a feeling I'll take quite a bit of time to get used to saying. Having a long standing history where I find big changes hard I'm guessing this isnt going to be so easy. Ignoring the weird transition from wanting to medicine to game engineering to princess to medicine back again, I guess you could say I've always wanted to medicine. In all honesty its nothing like "I want to be able to save lives" "I want to make people happy and healthy" or any phylosophical sounding junk (no offence), but it's for the simple fact that whenever I'm in a hospital my soul feel like its on fire (creepy I know). Not in a "the sight of death and sickness excites me" kind of sense, more that it kind of fascinates me how the complex system of human doctors and nurses along with the non-human machines, drugs, and what-not interact in keeping another human alive to see another day.


To give more insight I'll share with you a "what the hell is wrong with you" moment I had a while ago. It was an old lady, struggling to breath, holding onto the last bits of her life. Machines attatched, strange noises; beeping from the heart monitor, along with her strangulated sounding breaths. Watching the strange patterns on the monitors, the varying numbers, her laboured breathing all of them indicating something about where she was in that point of time really fascinated me. I want to know how it all works. And so, medicine it is.


I always have owed it to the fact that my mother's a doctor too I guess. Being around hospitals at a young age meant that it always felt like a comfortable and familiar place to me. And so as I got older and would need to go to the hospital for whatever reason (I've got some interesting stories! (not really)) I'd always find myself staring, undeniably fascinated by everything I'd see and always reminding myself "Hey, you're gonna be in the middle of all of this soon".


Well that is it for now, we've come to the end of my midnight introductory splurge. Guess we should just sit tight and see where this goes.



See you on the other side!

18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page