top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNethmini Sirimanne

Entrance Exams vs ALs - Spot the Difference

2 years of sleepless nights, money spent, daydreaming, endless cramming, and stress all coming to a sweet release at the end on the final day of AL exams. It feels great. The freedom is such a foreign feeling that at first you almost feel at unease, but you know you deserved it. For all that hard work, of course, you should be allowed to finally breathe without having a constant nagging at the back of your mind telling you to study. Right?


Now after all of that, you wait for your results, for some its an anxious wait, for some it's highly anticipated. Either way that also comes and goes. Results day I think it really hits you that you really are done with your ALs for good (along with your school life), and then life moves on. It's onto looking out for unis.


Stressful times, at least for me it definitely was. Having to make a choice between taking a gap year or to leave for uni (Should probably write a whole post for that story) but alas, a decision was made eventually. Then it was a matter of waiting a few weeks and it was time to fly. Then everything changed when the coronavirus attacked (ATLA reference there, ha!). Weeks turned into months, and the waiting game goes on. Finally though, looks like things are starting to stir up again. The semester is due to start next month. Finally an official new start right? Uni life! (regardless of the fact that its online).


Entrance Exams.

One question. W H Y ?


The new chapter of your life, beginning with a revisit to one of the most stressful chapters from the past and for what? Wasn't the point of ALs to show your level of understanding of certain subjects to deem you worthy for admission to uni? Then write another paper with identical content more than a year after the last AL paper? FOR WHAT JOY?


Don't really know where I'm going with this but guess I just wanted to get out my feelings regarding this whole situation. Knowing me I will most definitely be hitting the books for the foreseeable few weeks. I may be annoyed but annoyed doesn't make my insatiable need to be good at whatever exam comes my way go away. Probably a good thing in the long run though. Praying that all the forgotten knowledge from a year ago will magically come back to me. One can only wish.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hi! Nice to Meet you.

My name is Nethmini Sirimanne, I'm 17 years old, and as of August 2020 I'm just about to enter Medical school in about a months time. So why is it that I opened up a blog you may wonder? Great questio

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page